One Hundred Blogs and an Award

leibster award

 

Last weekend, I received a message from one of my dear Wordpretzels, namely Lillian http://lillian888.wordpress.com/  telling me that she had nominated me for the Leibster Award.

Well, I was overjoyed. Lillian, who writes under the title ‘Hope and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons’ is a proper writer. A professional writer. Who writes stories and books and stuff. She also reads my constant stream of drivel; not only does she read it, she ‘likes’ my blogs and leaves lots of positive comments. Leibster is German for ‘dearest’ I believe. So, in order to accept my award, I had to answer some questions set by Lillian. You’ll find the questions and my responses below. Meantime, having looked at the rules (which vary, I must say), I have to nominate 3 of my favourite bloggers with less than 3000 followers. I initially thought it was less than 300, like me, which would basically rule out everybody else I read. Yes, one hundred odd blogs in and I’m still the most unpopular blogger I know. Does that make me a cult? Nearly, I hear you reply. Charming.

 

1. What is your best holiday memory?

Sitting in a hotel in San Francisco with Lady Barton St Mary, Master Johnny and Miss Katherine, eating breakfast after arriving the night before. The sheer excitement of what was to come whilst eating some authentic multi-coloured North American cereal was so much fun!
2. Do you like to collect a particular something?

Money, but my collection isn’t going well. I was expecting to have more of it at my time of life.
3. What frightens you?

Any of my regular readers who thought I would say Lady Barton St Mary should be ashamed of themselves. Honestly? The sea frightens me, due to its sheer enormity. I can swim in it and travel on boats and fly in an aeroplane over it, but when I see large expanses of water, I find it slightly unnerving.
4. Which bug do you like best?

The Millennium Bug. It only appears once every thousand years, doesn’t harm anybody or anything and doesn’t really exist.
5. Who is the person who makes you laugh?

My wife, Lady Barton St Mary, most of the time intentionally.
6. Where do you go when you need to get away from it all?

For a run. It clears the mind, produces endorphins and makes me happy. Although getting away from it all is hard for a runner, since they tend to end up back where they started from.
7. What is your guilty pleasure?

I don’t feel guilty about any of my pleasures, but I suppose being a massive fan of Deal or No Deal (UK) and Noel Edmonds must be what you mean. That and pickled onions.
8. Where would your dream holiday be?

I’m very lucky. I think I’ve already had it. It would be a trip to California, but next time I think I’d like to travel north of San Francisco to Napa Valley. California is possibly the closest you can get to heaven. Provided you have plenty of money.
9. What is the one talent you wish you had?

To be able to write amazing stories that people loved, so I could do this for a living. Ha!

10. If you could meet three famous people, living or dead, who would you choose?

 

I would love to reel off a list of worthy, deep thinking figures from history, but I’m very shallow. The list would change from day to day.

 

Today’s trio would be Stan Laurel – comic genius. My children were subjected to the Laurel and Hardy box set from a young age. I can remember Master Johnny showing his friends ‘Sons of the Desert’. They were traumatised by the lack of colour pictures.

 

Paul McCartney – do I have to justify this one? The Beatles, just a band, but probably the greatest band there ever was or ever will be. McCartney wrote the majority of the songs with John Lennon. A massive icon in popular music terms. Forget The Frog Song and the appearances at the jubilee and the Olympic ceremony. Remember Yesterday, Lady Madonna, Maybe I’m Amazed and Band on the Run.

 

Danny Baker – Broadcaster and former journalist for The New Musical Express and punk fanzine Sniffing Glue. Having read his autobiography, our childhoods and families had a few things in common. He’s also full of stories and has a great sense of humour.

My Nominations

Sketches From Memoryhttp://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/6034083/  – a daily comic strip from a very talented cartoon artist.

Whitesnake Said It Best http://.com/read/blog/id/30159703/ – hilarious adventures of an Irish girl who works for a financial institution. The transcripts of customer calls are priceless.

CrankyandTaxing http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/36517466/ The adventures of a foxy accountant. She makes tax laws come to life.

EnterSomethingFunnyHere http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/39500268/ She hasn’t entered anything for a while, but she still deserves an award.

Go and have a look. You won’t be disappointed.

 

 

 

 

About ruralspaceman

A man trapped inside a middle aged body still tries to be hip and trendy. Actually, no he doesn't. He says it as he sees it. as long as it's not too controversial. Living with his wife, Lady Barton St Mary, two children, Miss Katherine and Master Johnny in Randall Towers, he is constantly frustrated by the mechanisms of modern life and the issues raised by being the husband of a high flying executive and member of the aristocracy. All he wants is a quiet life and a full set of Deal or No Deal DVDs. Please help him.
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, blogs, humor, humour, wordpress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

