The Magic of Giving a Gift.

As most of you are aware, I start panicking about Lady Barton St Mary’s birthday gift in August, despite the fact her birthday isn’t until the 18th December. As you may be aware ( see  Christmas Past, Christmas Present – Mustard Coloured Track Suit and a Leopard Skin Kimono) selecting gifts is not my forte.

Fortunately, she informed me that she wanted some Chanel No 5 perfume, which was fine. Also aware that I wouldn’t find it however hard I scoured the shelves of the local petrol station shop, she directed me to the John Lewis website, which now has a special Chanel sale section.

“At the moment, they’re offering 10% off,” she explained, “if you order it today, you can also save 25% with our family discount card.”

I forgot what type of Chanel she wanted. Coco? Coco Chanel? Coco Madamoiselle? Cocovoulezvoucouchezavecmoi? Coco the Clown? I’d distracted myself.

“Chanel No. 5,” she reiterated firmly, “look at the start of this blog.”

Oh yeah.

So, having established that I can purchase it online now, with discount, using her card, part of my BSM birthday panic will be over. Phew.

She leaned over my shoulder as I searched for the right product, giving me a hug.

“That’s one of the strengths of a long relationship,” she whispered in my ear, “always being able to surprise your partner.”

Wait until I give her this vintage bottle of  Stowaway (Sleepy Lagoon) I ordered on

eBay instead of the Chanel. She’ll be so thrilled!

About ruralspaceman

A man trapped inside a middle aged body still tries to be hip and trendy. Actually, no he doesn't. He says it as he sees it. as long as it's not too controversial. Living with his wife, Lady Barton St Mary, two children, Miss Katherine and Master Johnny in Randall Towers, he is constantly frustrated by the mechanisms of modern life and the issues raised by being the husband of a high flying executive and member of the aristocracy. All he wants is a quiet life and a full set of Deal or No Deal DVDs. Please help him.
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, Christmas, freshly pressed, humor, humour, Lady Barton St Mary, life observations, wordpress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

