Culinary Panic

Lady Barton St Mary was planning to go shopping in order to cook a meal for tomorrow. However,at 4.30pm, as I was trying to nap under the counters at the back of (almost) voluntary work, she sent me a text.

“I didn’t manage to get to the shops today. Too busy. Please get some braising steak, mushrooms, dome button onions, potatoes and greens.”

I had no problem getting the shopping, it was just one item that was bothering me. I didn’t know what a dome button onion was. I’m sure they’d sell them in Waitrose, but I was shopping in Tesco. I thought my chances of getting a Tesco employee to lead me to the dome button onion sections would be slim.

Thankfully, Lady BSM called me again just before I set off.

“Hello,” she said, ” did you get my message?”

“Yes, thanks,” I replied, wondering whether to ask the question or not.

“Thanks for doing this for me. I’m just so busy at the moment,” she explained.

“No, it’s not a problem,” I explained, “there’s just one thing I need help with. What’s a dome button onion?” I asked, pen poised to take notes.

There was a pause on the line while she composed herself.

“Oh. Sorry. I thought you’d guess it was a typo. It’s meant to say ‘Some button onions…”

 

About ruralspaceman

A man trapped inside a middle aged body still tries to be hip and trendy. Actually, no he doesn't. He says it as he sees it. as long as it's not too controversial. Living with his wife, Lady Barton St Mary, two children, Miss Katherine and Master Johnny in Randall Towers, he is constantly frustrated by the mechanisms of modern life and the issues raised by being the husband of a high flying executive and member of the aristocracy. All he wants is a quiet life and a full set of Deal or No Deal DVDs. Please help him.
This entry was posted in cooking, humor, humour, Lady Barton St Mary, life observations, linguistics, wordpress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

