Mum’s the word – A Guide to Mothers manufactured 1920 – 1935

It’s Mothers’ Day, so I thought I’d reblog this. Because I’m lazy and may not write another one today.

ruralspaceman

Last month would have been my mum’s 92nd birthday, which gives me an excuse to write a blog about her.

mum knees up 001

I think men and women of a certain age would find similarities with their own mothers; I have at least a couple of friends whose mothers shared a lot of the principles and beliefs of my own mum. Hence this guide to mums involves a couple of generations of what would have been regarded as ‘older mums,’ their children being born in the late 1950s and early 1960s. Which means I’m probably talking for a lot of Deborahs, Karens, Sharons, Traceys, Susans, Peters, Pauls, Richards, Neils and Kevins out there.

I won’t manage to cover all subject areas, just the more important ones that highlight the philosophies and reasoning of my mum.

Clothing

As a young child, the photographs seem to show me dressed most of the time in…

View original post 2,118 more words

About ruralspaceman

A man trapped inside a middle aged body still tries to be hip and trendy. Actually, no he doesn't. He says it as he sees it. as long as it's not too controversial. Living with his wife, Lady Barton St Mary, two children, Miss Katherine and Master Johnny in Randall Towers, he is constantly frustrated by the mechanisms of modern life and the issues raised by being the husband of a high flying executive and member of the aristocracy. All he wants is a quiet life and a full set of Deal or No Deal DVDs. Please help him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

