Wardrobe Malfunction

Wordpretzels, I’m off to Barcelona with Lady Barton St Mary and accompanied by The Sexton and Pen.

“What are you packing?” asked Lady BSM.

I considered for a while, making a mental list of what was required.

“Hmm. We’re staying for three nights, the temperature will be a comfortable 19 degrees, so perhaps warm enough for short sleeves; although a jacket or jumper may be required as evening draws in. I’ll also need to take dress shoes and perhaps my linen suit for the evening, which I can alternate with another jacket and smart trousers for when we visit these rather lovely restaurants you’ve told me about. I’ll probably need my Harrington jacket in case it gets chilly during the day. Some trainers and espadrilles, a couple of pairs of shorts, a few pairs of socks and five or six pairs of underpants. I’ll also need to take my running kit – somebody has told me that there are some wonderful running routes in Barcelona – so my running shoes, a couple of running tops, shorts, sweatbands, socks and my knee brace. I can’t run without that. Also, best take your Kindle for reading, plus some notebooks and pens to jot stuff down. Do you think it’s worth taking a bluetooth speaker or can we plug our phones into a music centre at the hotel? Oh! Yes! A charger for the Kindle, my iPhone, my running watch and your iPad. Then I’ll need shampoo, shower gel, shaving gear, after shave, hair product, moisturiser, my electric toothbrush, erm… How many dress shirts do you think I’ll need? What about an extra linen suit?”

Lady BSM tilted her head to one side, considering her reply.

“It’s hand luggage only.”

“WHAT!?”

About ruralspaceman

A man trapped inside a middle aged body still tries to be hip and trendy. Actually, no he doesn't. He says it as he sees it. as long as it's not too controversial. Living with his wife, Lady Barton St Mary, two children, Miss Katherine and Master Johnny in Randall Towers, he is constantly frustrated by the mechanisms of modern life and the issues raised by being the husband of a high flying executive and member of the aristocracy. All he wants is a quiet life and a full set of Deal or No Deal DVDs. Please help him.
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, blogs, clothes, freshly pressed, Holidays, humor, humour, Lady Barton St Mary, life observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wardrobe Malfunction

  1. Kazaj says:

    What you need is to watch a video on bundle wrap packing. I went on holiday to Guatemala for 2 weeks with just hand luggage!!

  2. You have 2 linen suits?!?

  3. Lady Dickson says:

    I’m going to Europe with just a carry on backpack. I am 100% not looking forward to packing.

Leave a Reply

