It’s Started…

Leaving the supermarket and walking to my car, I answer a call on my mobile.

“Hello? It’s Blessing. I wanted some advice on my essay,” says the voice on the other end of the line; one of my student tutors. I stuff the mobile between my ear and shoulder as I fumble for my car keys in my left hand pocket, shaking them loose and clicking the button to unlock the car.

“I have managed to finish my assignments, but think I have exceeded the word count,” Blessing explains. I load the heavy bag of shopping in the boot and shut it, walking around to the driver’s door.

“How many words are you over?” I ask, as I climb into the seat and check my right pocket. Something isn’t right.

“About three hundred and fifty,” he explains, “do I need to cut it down?”

I check my jacket pockets, more fervently than my trouser pocket, then exit the car, looking around the driver’s seat and the front passenger seat.

“Erm, no, that should be OK,” I assure Blessing, not really concentrating now. I’m hurriedly heading back to the boot, opening it and searching through the groceries as Blessing expresses his relief, in direct proportion to my panic. I’m trying to think how it’s completely disappeared, I’m usually so careful. I make my way back to the driver’s seat and pretend to listen to Blessing’s description of his assignment. Where has it gone?

“Can I ask you about my teaching assignment next week? Only I – ”

Now completely freaked, sweaty and unable to continue the conversation, I interrupt my student.

“I’m really sorry, Blessing, I have to go. I’ve lost my phone.”

About ruralspaceman

A man trapped inside a middle aged body still tries to be hip and trendy. Actually, no he doesn't. He says it as he sees it. as long as it's not too controversial. Living with his wife, Lady Barton St Mary, two children, Miss Katherine and Master Johnny in Randall Towers, he is constantly frustrated by the mechanisms of modern life and the issues raised by being the husband of a high flying executive and member of the aristocracy. All he wants is a quiet life and a full set of Deal or No Deal DVDs. Please help him.
This entry was posted in age, ageing, blog, blogging, blogs, freshly pressed, humor, humour, life observations, wordpress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Started…

  1. Lady Dickson says:

    CLASSIC. I love when this happens.

  2. LillianC says:

    My big sister embraced the cell phone revolution and is a master of texting. I am not. I have to keep reminding myself to look at my phone, which I don’t normally do unless it rings. This means I don’t hear text messages come in. Drives my sister nuts.

Leave a Reply

