Rural Spaceman’s Status Quo

I was listening to Danny Baker interview Francis Rossi on a podcast, when Danny asked Francis about Rick Parfitt. Francis made it quite clear that it was very unlikely that Rick would ever perform with the Quo again. The latest news from the BBC confirms this, saying it’s due to Rick’s heart problems; rather candidly, Rossi hinted at memory loss being Rick’s issue.

Which made me think of the time I met Rick Parfitt. I had stopped at the local petrol station to refuel. As I filled my car, I noticed a Rolls Royce ease into the space opposite me, with the giveaway registration of RP1.

Having finished, I headed toward the kiosk, aware of a flash of blonde hair to my right. As I reached the door, the famous guitarist was just behind me. Opening the door, I looked behind me, as Rick approached, limping. Our eyes met.

“My, the rock and roll years have taken their toll, haven’t they?” I commented.

Rick gave me a steady stare for a couple of seconds.

“You cheeky bastard. I fell off me ‘orse,” he explained, before giving me a broad grin and limping through the open doorway.

Which is why everybody should love Status Quo.

About ruralspaceman

A man trapped inside a middle aged body still tries to be hip and trendy. Actually, no he doesn't. He says it as he sees it. as long as it's not too controversial. Living with his wife, Lady Barton St Mary, two children, Miss Katherine and Master Johnny in Randall Towers, he is constantly frustrated by the mechanisms of modern life and the issues raised by being the husband of a high flying executive and member of the aristocracy. All he wants is a quiet life and a full set of Deal or No Deal DVDs. Please help him.
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, blogs, humor, humour, life observations, music, Status Quo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

